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Beginning Sunday, June 14, the Administration is making available a new State of Rhode Island 
Employee WorkShare Program, which will allow eligible state employees to claim federal 
WorkShare benefits while working 60% of their regular weekly hours. Below are some 
Frequently Asked Questions about the program. 

 
If I volunteer to participate in the program, does that mean that I am automatically enrolled? 
Departments need to consider the totality of program volunteers against the necessity to 
maintain adequate levels of needed and critical services to the citizens of Rhode Island. 
Following careful consideration, if an agency is unable to meet required service levels, they may 
determine that an employee or groups of employees in particular classifications are unable to 
participate in the program. Included in this consideration are employees who are health care 
providers and emergency responders. 

 
I am a temporary or seasonal worker. Am I eligible to participate in the State’s WorkShare 
program?  
Under the Department of Labor and Training’s WorkShare rules, seasonal or temporary workers 
are not eligible to participate in the program. 

 
I live in another state. Am I still able to participate in Rhode Island’s Workshare program?  
Yes, nonresident employees are able to participate since their employer is in Rhode Island. 

  
How is the WorkShare benefit calculated?   
Since employees will be receiving WorkShare benefits for 40% of their weekly wages, the 
maximum weekly benefit under the WorkShare program will be $234. As part of the federal 
CARES Act, individuals collecting WorkShare benefits are also eligible to receive the extra $600 
per week in full. It should be noted that this $600 payment is set to end on July 25, 2020, and 
there is no guarantee that it will be renewed. Due to the extra $600 per week, employees 
earning a taxable salary of $69,500 or less will average the same salary or better (as if working 
full-time over the course of this period). Note: This is a rough estimate. The salary cited does not 
assume any tax or other payroll deductions and may vary depending on individual 
circumstances. 

 
For example, an employee whose annual taxable salary is $50,000 receives $962 weekly from 
the State of Rhode Island. Working 60% of their work week will result in a payment of $577 
from the State and $193 in a WorkShare payment. Adding the $600 benefit from the CARES Act, 
the employee would receive a total of $1,369 for the six weeks through the July 25, 2020, and 
then $770 weekly for the remaining six weeks of the program. 

 
Will I receive any additional benefit for dependents?  
Yes, the full unemployment insurance benefit for dependent children (under the age of 18) is 
the greater of $15 or 5% of the weekly benefit rate for each dependent up to a maximum of 5 
dependents. This would be reduced under WorkShare by 60%. 
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With WorkShare, is there an income maximum where an employee would not qualify for the 
additional $600 benefit?  
No. 

 
When will I receive my first WorkShare payment?  
Due to the COVID-19 crisis, the standard mandatory waiting period of one week has been 
waived. However, employees should also be aware that due to the high volume that DLT is 
experiencing with unemployment claims, employees may experience a lag in receiving their first 
WorkShare benefit payment. Details about your benefit payment will be shared as they become 
available. 
  
Do the two WorkShare days need to be the same each week, or can I switch them each week 
based on either my personal needs or the needs of my agency?  
To ensure that agencies are able to properly manage their operations, the goal is to have 
employees consistently work the same three days and take the same two WorkShare days each 
week. 

 
UPDATE!  What happens if one of my WorkShare days falls on a holiday?  
A participant cannot receive a WorkShare payment on a day for which they are also getting paid 
for the holiday. During those weeks where there is a Monday holiday, the holiday will be 
counted as one of the three non-WorkShare days (since the participant is getting a full day of 
pay for the holiday). As a result, a participant would move their WorkShare day from Monday to 
another day during the week and would only actually work two other days during that week.  
 
NEW! What happens if my regular schedule includes a Saturday, and Saturday, July 4th is one of 
my scheduled WorkShare days? 
If you are a participant who is covered by a bargaining unit contract, much like the Monday 
holiday question above, Saturday, July 4th will be counted as one of the three non-WorkShare 
days. As a result, you would move your WorkShare day from Saturday to a day earlier in the 
week and would only work two other days during in the week. If you are then scheduled to work 
on Monday, July 6th, you would report to work on that date. Note that WorkShare looks at each 
week individually, and you would not be able to move a WorkShare day from Saturday, July 4th 
into the week of July 5th. 
 
If you are a participant who is not covered by a bargaining unit contract, then you would work 
on Saturday, July 4th as Monday, July 6th is your scheduled holiday and you should follow the 
Monday holiday scenario detailed above. 

 
NEW!  During a week with a holiday, can I use accrued time on my two working days so I can be 
out for a full week and still receive my WorkShare benefit payment? 
The WorkShare program requires that a participant work at least a portion of their hours during 
any given week in order to qualify for the WorkShare benefit. So, in a week with a holiday, a 
participant would not receive their WorkShare benefit payment if they choose to use vacation or  
 
 
 
 



Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) 
State Employee WorkShare 
Program 

 

 
other accrued time for their two remaining working days. In this case, the participant would be 
required to use other accrued time for their two WorkShare days in order to be paid and out of 
work for the full week. 

 
How will I receive my WorkShare benefit payment?  
During the application process, employees will be asked to provide their routing and account numbers if 
they want direct deposit, or they can choose our Electronic Payment Card (EPC). 

 
UPDATE!  What happens if I call out sick on one of my scheduled workdays?   
Under the Department of Labor and Training’s (DLT) WorkShare regulations, if an employee calls out sick 
on any of their scheduled workdays, they will be disqualified from receiving the WorkShare benefit 
payment for that week. For the purposes of the SORI Employee WorkShare Program and to allow 
employees flexibility during this difficult time, if an employee has an unanticipated need to be off on a 
scheduled workday or days, the employee may choose to use approved time off from their accrued  
personal, vacation or comp time. If the employee has no accrued vacation, personal or comp time to 
discharge, the employee can choose to work another day (or days) that week. If an employee is sick and 
is unable to work a portion of the week, the employee must discharge sick, vacation, personal, comp 
time or R0/R1time for all 5 days that week and would not receive WorkShare benefits for that week. 

 
What happens if I have a vacation week planned for this summer? Can I use three days of 
vacation time and still receive my WorkShare benefit payment?  
If you have a vacation week planned, you will not be eligible to receive your WorkShare benefits 
payment for that week and you will need to discharge accrued time for the full week. The WorkShare 
program requires that employees work at least a portion of their hours during any given week in order 
to qualify for the WorkShare benefit. (Note: While participating in WorkShare, employees continue to 
accrue full credit of vacation, sick, personal and other accruals.) 

 
What happens if my circumstances change and I would like to drop out of the program before 
the program end date?  
It is the State’s expectation that once committed to the WorkShare program, all employees will 
remain part of the program for the entire duration. This is for both the State to realize its payroll 
savings goal as well as for agencies to be able to properly manage its workforce needs through 
the end of the program. The more we maximize participation in this program, the fewer painful 
choices the State will have to make down the road. 

 
If I participate in WorkShare and there are layoffs and furloughs at a later date, will the 
WorkShare payments reduce my unemployment benefits in the future?  
Your unemployment benefit credit amount and claim year are established at the beginning of 
the claim. WorkShare payments would reduce your total unemployment benefit amount for the 
claim year. 

 
Will WorkShare impact when I get my scheduled step increase as a result of less days worked? 
WorkShare will not impact when an employee receives their scheduled step increase. The 
scheduled date of the step increase remains the same.   
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Will I still receive my full longevity and education credits?  
Yes. 

 
I am on a compressed work week now. Would I have to discontinue my compressed work week schedule in 
order to participate in the program?  
Employees who are presently in a compressed work week agreement will need to revert to a 
regular work schedule for the period of WorkShare.  
  
If I work extra hours on one or more of the days I am scheduled to work, will that reduce my 
WorkShare benefit?  
Employees will not be assigned or required to work extra hours during the weeks they are 
participating in the WorkShare program. In the event an employee participating in the WorkShare 
program works extra hours, those hours would be paid at straight time and the additional earnings and  
hours worked would be reported to DLT which would have an effect of reducing the unemployment 
benefits an employee would receive for that week. If an employee’s total hours worked in a week exceed 
90%, they are no longer eligible for a WorkShare payment. (Note: In order for the State to effectively 
manage the WorkShare Program in coordination with DLT, employees should adhere to their 
scheduled hours as much and as closely as possible.) 
  
I am currently teleworking either all or some of my work week. If I volunteer, will I be able to continue 
teleworking on my three working days?  
Yes, if you already working under an approved teleworking agreement, you can continue to 
telework while part of the WorkShare program with the understanding that as the State moves 
into each phase of reopening, we will be looking to bring more employees back into the 
workplace. This may cause your teleworking agreement to end or be modified in the future. 

 
If I am set to retire during the WorkShare program period, can I still participate until my retire 
date?   
No, the participants must be in the program for the full period from June 14 to September 5. 

 
Will participating in the WorkShare program impact my retirement eligibility date?  
No. For purposes of determining your retirement eligibility date, you will still receive full-service 
credit while on the WorkShare program. 
  
If at the end of the program period I would like to “buy back” my missed pension contributions, is 
it with or without interest?   
The interest is 7% compounded annually. Members may request such a purchase at any time, 
beginning at the conclusion of their participation in the WorkShare program. Therefore, the 
sooner they request to purchase, the less interest they will be required to pay. The missed 
contributions will matter to those who are in their 5 highest paid years (generally those closer to 
retirement, but not always). 

 
How do I make a buyback?  
To make a buyback, complete the WorkShare Verification form at ERSRI.org to contribute the 
"missing" employee contributions. 
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You may elect to "purchase" this salary once the WorkShare program time period has ended in 
September. Members interested in purchasing the missing salary must submit the request to 
ERSRI prior to retirement or December 31, 2020 -whichever is sooner - to avoid also having to 
pay interest charges on the missing contributions. 

 
I am currently enrolled in the Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA) program for the 
care of my child(ren) due to their school/day care closure. Can I participate in the WorkShare 
program and continue to receive the FFCRA benefit?  
No. You are unable to receive benefits from both programs. If you are accepted to participate in 
WorkShare, you will need to be removed from FFCRA. Please contact the Division of Human 
Resources Disability Management Unit (DMU) at 401-574-8401 to initiate this process. 
 
If I have another job with a 2nd employer, will this affect my participation with the State’s 
WorkShare program?  
No. Employment with a second employer will not affect your participation in the State of Rhode 
Island Employee WorkShare Program. 

 

I am a part-time employee with the State. Can I participate in the WorkShare program?  
Yes. Part-time employees may be eligible to participate in the WorkShare program, and the 
same formula applies in that part-time employees will work 60% of their schedule each week 
and receive WorkShare benefits for the remaining 40%. 

 
I am interested in volunteering for the WorkShare Program. What do I do next?  
Employees who are interested in volunteering for the WorkShare program should fill out the State of 
Rhode Island Employee WorkShare Volunteer Form and submit it to your supervisor by Monday, June 8, 
2020. Your supervisor or agency director will notify you if you have been accepted to participate. Should 
you be selected, you will be provided instructions on how to file an initial claim with DLT, as well as details 
regarding the timing of WorkShare payments and other pertinent program information as it becomes 
available. After the filing of the initial claim, the Department of Administration will continue to recertify 
you each week through the end of the program. 

 
Where can I go if I have more questions about DLT’s WorkShare program?  

• WorkShare Program, Documents and FAQs: http://www.dlt.ri.gov/ui/ws.htm#faqs 
• WorkShare Brochure: http://www.dlt.ri.gov/ui/pdfs/Workshare0316.pdf 
• COVID-19 One Pager: http://www.dlt.ri.gov/ui/pdfs/WorkShare%20COVID19%20One-Pager.pdf 

  
Questions about the State Employee WorkShare Program? You have a few different resources:  

• HR General Email: doa.hrcontact@hr.ri.gov 
• HR General Hotline: 401-222-2160 
• Assigned Agency HR Liaison: 

http://www.hr.ri.gov/documents/Organizational%20Charts/General-March2020.pdf 
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